Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Hazard Kentucky
    Posts
    681

    Ram mount axiom9

    I just purchased an axiom 9. It looks like it's a little big to surface mount in my 2010 nitro z9. So I will have to ram mount it. What size ram mount do I need to get to keep the unit stable and locked in place.

  2.  
  3. Honda / Raymarine Moderator Hickory Legend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Old Hickory
    Posts
    10,203
    #2
    Go with a TH marine Kong, it isn’t going to move!

  4. Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Hazard Kentucky
    Posts
    681
    #3
    Quote Originally Posted by Hickory Legend View Post
    Go with a TH marine Kong, it isn’t going to move!
    I looked at those, man those are expensive. I will try a ram mount i guess and get the biggest they have.

  5. Honda / Raymarine Moderator Hickory Legend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Old Hickory
    Posts
    10,203
    #4
    The rams with the arms without the ball is what I would use.

    https://www.rammount.com/part/RAM-109HU

  6. Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Hazard Kentucky
    Posts
    681
    #5
    Quote Originally Posted by Hickory Legend View Post
    The rams with the arms without the ball is what I would use.

    https://www.rammount.com/part/RAM-109HU
    Is that one large enough for an axiom 9.

  7. Honda / Raymarine Moderator Hickory Legend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Old Hickory
    Posts
    10,203
    #6
    Says good up to 10Lbs.
    I have used it with 12 inch Raymarine units.

    Depending on your console they also make a side mount.
    Last edited by Hickory Legend; 04-23-2018 at 08:16 PM.

  8. Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    422
    #7
    I just installed this mount for the first time today on a customers boat with a 9” unit. I like this style better than the traditional ball style with the side wing nut because you can tighten it better and it’s more versatile. Should get the job done for your Axiom 9

    Quote Originally Posted by Hickory Legend View Post
    The rams with the arms without the ball is what I would use.

    https://www.rammount.com/part/RAM-109HU

  9. Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Hazard Kentucky
    Posts
    681
    #8
    Quote Originally Posted by scott c View Post
    I just purchased an axiom 9. It looks like it's a little big to surface mount in my 2010 nitro z9. So I will have to ram mount it. What size ram mount do I need to get to keep the unit stable and locked in place.
    I ended up figuring out a way to surface mount in my nitro dash. It looks really good. I just have to find some threaded rods like it came with only an inch longer. Worked out perfect. Really impressed so far with this unit. Amazing how fast you can change apps. Can't wait to get out on the water for a real test.

  10. Honda / Raymarine Moderator Hickory Legend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Old Hickory
    Posts
    10,203
    #9
    Yea the Axioms have a smaller foot print than the same size in the other brands. So the 9 Axiom isn't much if any bigger than the other brands 7 inch units.

    Hardware store should have some threaded rods that you can cut to the length you need.