Engine Level Around When Loading and Unloading

I am a complete rookie. My dad didn't fish and I don't have any brothers, and none of my friends have a boat. So I bought my first boat last week. (I'm over 50) I got an aluminum to minimize the damage during rookie mistakes. I went yesterday for the first time, by myself, and really had trouble manuevering around the launch. I had my motor trimmed all the way down and was stirring up a lot or mud and hitting the bottom occasionally.

Also, yesterday I was running not really fast, maybe 15-18 mph in what was marked as the channel and hit something that knocked a big chunk out of my skeg and nicked my propeller. (Fury 24) It's going to be the nicest day of the year today and I don't even want to go back out today because I'm afraid of what I might tear up today..

2. Electrical/Wiring/Trolling Motors Moderator CatFan's Avatar
    You want to trim up when you are around the ramp. If I don’t know the ramp I’ll usually be just below where is sprays water. Maneuvering a boat at low speed may be one of the hardest things to learn. Steering goes away and when you change from forward to reverse the boat moves the other way. Throw in a little wind and it gets pretty difficult.

On a lake with shallow spots out in the main lake, you need to know where they are and watch the sonar at the console. Limbs and even whole trees will lurk just below the surface at times, especially in river channels, and there’s not much you can do to avoid them.
    If you have integrity, nothing else matters. If you don't have integrity,
    nothing else matters.​

3. Member