Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Looking for open eye vibrating jig heads

Anybody make them or do they fall under the chatterbait patent lawsuit deal? Can't find them anywhere.

2. Member
    Lite parts offers a jighead
    Nitro z21

3. Member
    I see where I used to buy them quit carrying them.. I suspect they were included in the patent lawsuit deal...
    I used to also be able to buy a similar insert to pour in my own jigheads and I don't see those anymore either...

They're starting to show up again in some ways. I'm not sure what the deal is but that may be a sign that they could become available as they used to be. As an example, the D&M version is being sold on Tackle Warehouse as a "swim jig" now. The eye appears to be such that it could be pretty easily opened. They're like $5-$6 a piece and come skirted and all, but that tells me that the mass of products pulled from the market was maybe an over reaction to the patent disputes. I'm no lawyer, but I can't imagine how a company selling a swim jig with an open eye could be violating a patent. They can't control what people do with it after they purchase it.

They're also selling the original Phenix Vibrator as a swim jig. Apparently that eye cannot be easily opened (similar to trying to open an eye on a normal swim jig), but it might be worth trying.
    2011 Skeeter ZX225
    225 Yamaha HPDI Series 2
    Minn Kota Ultrex 112 52"
    Console: HDS 16 Carbon
    Bow: HDS 12 Carbon, Solix 12 G2, Mega 360, Garmin 106 SV, LVS 34

5. Member
    Thanks for the info I'm going to look into the heads you mentioned.

Gosh it's been a long long time but barlows used to sell open eye Jigheads and all the components to assemble your own baits. I'm assuming Z-man put an end to being able to buy the heads. Had I known at the time that was going to happen I would have stocked up.
    LET'S GO BLUES!!! WILL WE MAKE THE PLAYOFFS IN 2024?

7. Member