Lead acid vs agm

What’s the pros and cons of lead acid vs agm other than price for trolling batteries? All I’ve ever had was lead acid and I’ve been thinking of swapping my trolling batteries to agm while Sams has them on sell if the benefits outweigh the cost difference.

2. Ranger Boats Moderator jc2bg's Avatar
    I am no expert, but the basic difference is that lead acid batteries lose charge strength gradually, while AGM retains full strength for a longer period and then flatlines when the charge is gone. The kind of use you typically encounter for your trolling batteries may determine which type is better for you. And of course, AGM don’t need water added. On the advice of my dealer, I run AGM for cranking battery—because I want full strength to crank the big motor, and because I have a jump-start module on my boat—but use lead acid for trolling batteries because a gradual loss of power gives me a heads-up that I may need to keep an eye on battery condition to get through the day. I also run 3 trolling batteries, which makes the cost differential greater between the 2 battery types. With 36 volts, I am unlikely to ever deplete my trolling batteries in one day’s fishing, so the AGM as a trolling battery has no advantage for me, other than not adding water once a year.
    John Clark — Findlay, Ohio

3. Member
    Quote Originally Posted by jc2bg View Post