Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Speed, what's the big deal?

Hello all. Newbie here. I have decided to get into bass fishing a little more seriously, so my john boat just isn't going to work anymore. I've looked at A LOT of posts, forums, articles and looked at some boats. A 86 Ranger 18' 371v (solid but wear and tear showing), a 1995 Javelin 377a (wasn't taken care of well), and will be going to look at a 88 Hydra Sport tomorrow if I can get the guy nailed down.

My question is, as someone who's completely new to big boating, what's the obsession with speed that I see? I can't see why it's so important to go 70+ mph. Am I missing something, or do I "just not get it"? It's fun to go fast, no doubt, but does it have a purpose?

Also, please feel free to give me any advice on type, brand, length, etc of boat a beginning bass boater might need to know. I am trying to research and soak in as much info as possible. I don't fish what I consider big water. I'm in TN and Center Hill, Percy Priest, Dale Hollow, Cordell Hull, Old Hickory are all within an hour of me, so I figure we'll start there lol. Appreciate any info or thoughts you have!

2. Banned
    Fast=Fun

Speed is only a factor during tournament competition. In the morning at takeoff the angler wants to get to their "spot" as fast as possible and before the competition gets to it. Speed is important when moving from one spot to another and also at the end of the day. A guy with a fast boat may be able to fish 5 or 10 minutes longer before heading back in for a 3:00 weigh in. The idea is more line in water time and less driving time.

Anybody else that is concerned with speed is just wanting to see how well they can get their boat dialed in. And, going fast is fun.
    Don't worry Ma'am....
    I'm only here for the
    Bass.

1. (and that is in big bold print for a reason) It's FUN!