Thread: Cold start

Cold start

Hey guys. I recently bought my first bassboat. 2001 Javelin Renegade 19 with Carbed 150HP johnson. ( not a fast strike or Ficht). And i dont want to mess anything up so im curious what the cold start procedure is for my boat/motor. It DOES have Hot Foot. Any input will appreciated. Thank you. Hope this isnt a dumb question but again im new to it and do not want to mess anything up.
    Dustin Davis
    Fish the days no one else wants to!!

2009 Skeeter ZX225
    225 Yamaha 4stroke
    Minn Kota Ultrex
    HDS Gen3 12/HDS Carbon 9

2. Member
    Prime the bulb to firm, turn the key to on position, push the key in for a few seconds, start her up. Should run in high idle for a bit then kick down to about 600 RPM's. Make sure you are good and warmed up, maybe 10 minutes, before you hammer down on it. Make sure you idle to cool it off after a wide open run.

3. Member
    Will i probably have to give it gas with the hot foot to get it start cold?
    Dustin Davis

2009 Skeeter ZX225
    225 Yamaha 4stroke
    Minn Kota Ultrex
    HDS Gen3 12/HDS Carbon 9

4. Member
    No, don't put your foot on the hot foot during start up. I have your same motor in a 2004 model. Assuming all is well and properly adjusted with throttle linkage and timing, just prime the ball, turn the key and press in, and start it.

5. Member
    Ok. Well hopefully all is as its suppoae to be. Again i just bought the boat and ive not yet had it to the lake. But i am chomping at the bit to do so. Thank you for your feed back.
    Dustin Davis

2009 Skeeter ZX225
    225 Yamaha 4stroke
    Minn Kota Ultrex
    HDS Gen3 12/HDS Carbon 9

6. Member
    I’ll say this, they are bullet proof motors. Hopefully you did a compression check. Replace plugs and thermostats and lower unit oil. They love drinking fuel, but mine has been flawless with regular annual maintenance.

If you have been trailering it, first trim the motor down level before trying to start it.

8. Member