Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

zman/ evergreen jackhammer chatterbaits

I ordered a few of these this week, just because it's winter, and I'm bored and curious. From the guys that have used them what makes them better than all the rest? I've had very little success on chatterbaits, in the past. What are your favorite trailers? I usually use swimbaits or grubs.

2. Member
    I think you'll be pleased with them. I believe what makes them different than the rest is the way that the blade knocks against the head. It knocks against the head pretty hard and creates a harder chatter. They come with hand tied skirts and a great hook too.

If you don't like them, feel free to send them to me.

3. Member
    I am fairly new to bass fishing but have had some luck with zman chatterbaits. Have not spent the extra money on a evergreen one yet. Usually use a Zeko as a trailer.
    Or sometimes no trailer.
    Semper Fi

4. Member
    I forgot to mention my trailer. I pretty much just use a Reaction Innovations Skinny Dipper or a Zoom Super Fluke. If you want your chatterbait to run true at high speeds, try a craw type trailer. It balances it out.

5. Member
    I suppose i just don't have much confidence in them. When is the best time to throw them? Whenever I'd throw a spinnerbait?

6. Member
    Quote Originally Posted by Bassakwards View Post
    I suppose i just don't have much confidence in them. When is the best time to throw them? Whenever I'd throw a spinnerbait?
    Usually pre-spawn throughout the Spring is best, but I throw them year round with good success. Any time you have some sort of vegetation it shines. It's funny, I have a hard time deciding when to throw a spinnerbait or a chatterbait. I love to throw both. If you want an above average fish then throw the chatterbait. It's a big fish bait for sure. A Lake Fork guide told me that several years ago and it has rung true ever since.

7. Member