Hard drive recovery

Anyone have experience with any of the hard drive recovery companies? A family friend has all of her pictures on a hard drive that has stopped working. Just making a clicking noise. Who is the best and affordable company to try to help?

2. Shutterbug Forum Moderator bdog7198's Avatar
    Ouch....the clicking noise is not a good thing. Generally means the step motor is fried and the only way to recover would be a company with a clean room removing the plates and recovering the data. As you can imagine this is VERY expensive. There is a slight chance with the right imaging equipment it can be done but no likely.

As for companies, there are not a lot of them. I personally have no experience with any of them. As a cyber forensic analyst I do it myself or recover from backup.

3. Member
    Is it a desk top computer? If so, you can remove the hd and put it in another computer, put the jumper on the back to slave. Boot the computer up then go in and see if the old hd shows up. If it does, you can see if the photos are on it and copy them to the new hd.

About 10+ years ago my hard drive fried. It had a lot of pics of my son and I on fishing and camping trips and our trip to NYC. I looked into what you're asking about. I found a company out on Northwest Expressway that had the clean room and could "potentially" recover the data but no guarantees or promises for $600. I decided against it.
    Don't worry Ma'am....
    I'm only here for the
    Bass.

5. Shutterbug Forum Moderator bdog7198's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Chris M View Post
    Is it a desk top computer? If so, you can remove the hd and put it in another computer, put the jumper on the back to slave. Boot the computer up then go in and see if the old hd shows up. If it does, you can see if the photos are on it and copy them to the new hd.