150 4/S flush valve

Don can you hook a hose to the flush valve as long as you leave the engine at idle or do you still need to use muffs? Wanting to check for leaks and oil level after performing routine maintenance.

1B947225 150/4S

thks

Tournament-Fishing \"It\'s not a question of if you will be humbled but how many times\"

2. Member
    Quote Originally Posted by bassbama View Post
    Don can you hook a hose to the flush valve as long as you leave the engine at idle or do you still need to use muffs? Wanting to check for leaks and oil level after performing routine maintenance.

1B947225 150/4S

thks
    From what I have read and understand, the flush valve is not intended to cool the engine while it is running, it is only for flushing out the motor. If you chose to run your engine, you should be running muffs.

Again I am no expert on this, but thisis what I came to understand reading post in here. Perhaps somsone with more knowledge on this subject will chime in.
    2013 Z118 w/Merc 150 4S

Quote Originally Posted by cfm56doc View Post
    From what I have read and understand, the flush valve is not intended to cool the engine while it is running, it is only for flushing out the motor. If you chose to run your engine, you should be running muffs.

Again I am no expert on this, but thisis what I came to understand reading post in here. Perhaps somsone with more knowledge on this subject will chime in.
    That is what I always thought until I saw a Merc dealership service dept running an engine on the flush valve. When I asked aren't you supposed to use muffs he said "As long as you only idle the engine it's ok" so didn't know if Merc informed mechanics that this was acceptable or this service center may have been mis-informed.

Tournament-Fishing \"It\'s not a question of if you will be humbled but how many times\"

4. Member
    Quote Originally Posted by bassbama View Post