Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Masterbuilt electric smoker

I would like to start smoking some meat. I don't want to break the bank so was considering one of the 180 dollar models. Has anyone used one and if so what were the results ?

2. Banned
    There are many of us with Mastercraft electric smokers. I am still experimenting with my technique. You should find them really cheap on Black Friday. I got mine at Bass Pro at 4:00 am last B. Fri.

The price is right and they are very easy to use. Taste is not as good as a charcoal, however you can sleep thru the night with the Mastercraft on the timer. Beats stoking the fire every hour.

3. Ya, I Live on Rainy Lake! basscla's Avatar
    I started out with an electric smoker and liked it. Now using charcoal. Big improvement

I have a Masterbuilt 40 electric, an egg, and an OK Joe stickburner. I like the MES because it's simple. Turn it on, toss in the meat, go about my life. It puts out good food for the family. Look around for the best price. Compare the 30 vs 40 for size. I do fish every once in a while and the extra space helps. Window? Mine has one but I don't see the point.

It's not compti-q or catering quality, but for the vast majority of real folks it's a winner. I'll buy another when this thing gives up. Probably 10 (?) years old now. I keep it inside when not using it. Only problem I had was a burnt connector on the element. Fixed it myself for less than $1.

5. Member
    My next question, get analog electric, digital electric or gas ?

I vote for digital electric. Plug in, set time, temp, add chips. You're set unless the power goes out.

7. Member
    Thanks!

I've had this one for almost 3 years now and couldn't be happier. The window is pointless but it has plenty of space when you have a crowd, and it is really set it and forget it. Academy will put them on sale for $199 twice a year, once should be coming up as it's around the thanksgiving/Christmas season.