Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

17 trx 21 over rev.??

this is my first triton. Love the boat but I feel like something is off. It's at 6000 rpm at 69mph. No matter the trim or hydraulic jackplate adjustment it stays in the same range. Currently running a 25 fury, I bought a 26 fury that's on its way to mark. Hoping that cures my problem. It's there something I'm doing wrong?

2. Member
    You should go for a ride with an experienced pilot to see if the problem is you, or the boat. There is a learning curve, you can't just hold the wheel still, and mash the throttle.

3. Member
    I'm no pro bass boat driver, however this is my first triton, but 5th bass boat. I know enough to feel like something is off. I know all props are not identical, or the tach is possibly off. I'm getting 20+ psi of water pressure so I'm not over trimmed nor do I have the jackplate to high.

Is the 6K reading on the tach or Smartcraft? My tach on my '16 reads a little high. I'm running max trim with wedges to get top end on my TRX21 so I don't think you're trimmed too high. My speeds are about the same as yours with a Fury 3, a lot of the guys are running a tempest and getting a little more top end out of theirs. I've got a tempest but haven't run it yet. I run a Fury 4 and get a lot more lift and dependable speed then the Fury 3, it would not get any lift with a load.

5. Member
    Quote Originally Posted by John st View Post
    I'm no pro bass boat driver, however this is my first triton, but 5th bass boat. I know enough to feel like something is off. I know all props are not identical, or the tach is possibly off. I'm getting 20+ psi of water pressure so I'm not over trimmed nor do I have the jackplate to high.
    How do you know when the jackplate is at the proper PTP height?

6. Member
    You can mash the gas and go on the trx ,they say it's the same hull as the hp but it doesn't ride like it