Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

First Outing with My New Lynx

First off, let me say I am by no means an expert on driving Basscats. But I can say for once I picked the exact boat I had hoped it would be. I launched at Powell Park on Rayburn and it looked as if every boat in Texas was on the lake. Speed boats, bass boats and recreational boats. It was pretty rough water. The Lynx handled it with ease. Drop the bow and the deep hull sliced through the chop. It turns and handles like no other boat this size I have ever been in. Ok, performance wise I am sure better drivers could wring more out of this boat than I can but, I was able to squeeze 74 mph loaded with all my gear, two full tanks of gas, no water in the livewells and two people. By myself 75 easily and 76 once. I do not think the prop is right. It has a 24 Fury 3 blade with all the vents open. Hole shot was good. Since I am still breaking it in, I could not run it wide open but for short bursts. It will get on the limiter easily if I stayed in it so I'm sure I will be going up in prop. This is much tamer than my Puma was at top speed and is very easy to drive with just a light input on the steering wheel. The 250 Verado is a beast! Hole shot is good, mid range is great and top end throttle response is like no other motor I have ever ran. It takes a very short time for the motor to reach top speed. In my short time of running the boat I believe the Verado and most likely the SHO would be the motors of choice for this big boat. I can't imagine how this boat would run with a 300 Verado on it. Perfect boat for me, big deck, fast, stable, of the highest quality. The Verado power steering is like no other steering I have used. With the right driver and propped right the Lynx will be fast for such a big boat.

2. Member
    Great review. I've been waiting to hear some first hand info from owners of this model. Mid 70s is impressive with the 250 VRod. I wonder how this boat would run with a G2

3. Member