Thread: New to Smoking

Somewhere between here and there, but not in the middle.

New to Smoking

I finally received clearance from the boss/CFO to get a smoker. After a bit of probing around and asking others about it, I've come to the conclusion that the Masterbuilt Front controller Electric smoker, in the 30 inch size is the deep end where I plan to jump in. I've also plan on getting a few smoker "how to" books to help me along. Remember, I am a beginner, but is a 30 inch size going to work for me. It's just my wife and I at home as far as mouths to feed. After reading all the stories and seeing all that awesome looking food in this forum, I got to try it myself.

2007 Legend Alpha 199 / 225 ProXs

Yes it will be just fine. I have the MES 30" and it's just me and the wife, The 30 will do a lot of meat but if you do any big cuts of meat or a large turkey you'll wish you had the 40" the 30 will start to fill up fast if you're doing food for more than about 6 or 8 people. I made the mistake of doing ribs for my mom and stepdad and my MIL and SIL so now when I cook ribs I have to do enough for them also, LOL. I also like to do a stick of bologna and pork loin at the same time I do ribs so the smoker fills up fast. One book I highly recommend is Low and Slow by Gary Wiviott, he talks about stick burners but everything he says can be directly applied to electric. It's a very straight forward and no nonsense book on BBQ.

40"mes on sale a couple of times a year at Academy. just wait for it
    "If People Concentrated on the Really Important Things in Life, There'd be a Shortage of Fishing Poles." - Doug Larson
    "Peace is not the absence of turmoil but the presence of God" Jo-Ann Thomack

4. Banned
    I got the 40 inch Christmas at Bass Pro Shop cheap. I am still learning how to use it.

5. Member
    I started with the bigger MES and cooked on it till it doesn't work any more.

Even cooked on it for my daughters wedding. That was 4 butts, and 6 whole chickens!