Thread: New Electronics

New Electronics

I have a new Lowrance HDS Gen 3 in the front and am looking to replace my old Hummingbird 788 ci HD at the dash. I want to replace the Hummingbird and it would be great for the two to be synced I think moving forward. I currently have a bilge transducer mount for the 788, which I like since it's out of the way and can't be damaged for the most part. Lowrance in front is on the trolling motor. I need a structure scan transducer to get the full advantage of my HDS, and I don't' see any TM mounts. So my questions are this:
    1) - Is there really a ture advantage for having them be able to sync - i.e. put a Lowrance at the dash
    2) - Is the bilge mount really an advantage? If so, is that option available with the Lowrance and still be able to obtain structure scan - and still sync.
    3) - I see a definate advantage to being able to take the transducer off the TM, assuming syncing works well.

There are lots of options and I'm new to it all, so I'm having trouble making heads or tails of it on the Lowrance site.

Thanks in advance.
    - Brian

BassCat Puma 2006, if that matters.

2. Lowrance/Garmin/GPS Moderator fishin couillon's Avatar
    With HDS units there is an advantage to have at least two with the networking capabilities the units have.

1. Yes, if you have another HDS gen 3 unit at the console connected via ethernet you will map sharing, waypoint syncing, sonar sharing, etc.....
    2. Bilge mount keeps the ducer safe and from being knocked off. It must be mounted in the sweet spot to get readings while on plane and higher speeds.....may take a few trips with adjusting/moving the ducer around to find the sweet spot. As for as structure scan, you can get either the Structure Scan HD or 3D Structure scan along with the bilge mounted ducer.....