Sanding to bare metal

Hey Guys,

I'm going to start a trailer restoration project in a few weeks and need some help. I have researched BBC extensively and decided that I'm going to sand to bare metal and most likely apply Por15 but am also thinking about a bed liner type material. I am new to sanding metal and just used an angle grinder with a wire brush as well as a 60 grit flap wheel. I had two different results and am hoping you could tell me which one I want. Both tools removed paint easily but the wire brush left it dull and the flap wheel left it shiny. Which one am I looking for? I have inserted two pictures so you can see what I'm talking about. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Attached Images Attached Images

I just restored my trailer earlier this year. I used an angle grinder with a wire brush on areas that had rust.
    The rest of the trailer I hit with 60 grit sandpaper.
    I followed up with two coats of primer and then a bed liner.
    End result was great. I've had no issues so far.

3. Member
    If you want to take it to metal. I would but a cheap sandblaster or have some one sand blast it. If the boat is not on it. It should not cost much. We have a local shop that sandblasted our 16ft trailer for 250.00.

4. Member
    I wish I could find someone to blast it for that price. Cheapest I have been quoted is $1200. From my understanding sandblasting makes a pretty big mess so I don't think I could do it with the space I have.

5. Member