Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Lithium battery issues

I have a 15 FX20 with 250 SHO. Motor is shutting down at about 4500 rpm. The volt Meter goes crazy, from 12-17 volts . Only does this when boat is running not when ignition is on. Already replaced voltage regulator. I am running lithium batteries. One 12v cranking battery and two 36v trolling motor batteries. The boat will also loose power all together, dash electronics etc after about 3 hours . I believe my issue is the crank battery. Anyone else have issues with lithium crank batteries like this? I am also curious how peolle are charging them. I have lithium pros charger. Thanks .

2. Member
    I read somewhere here that sho's and lithium batteries arent compatible. May wanna do some more research. Im no mechanic and i dont have experience with lithiums. But i do recall reading this.

3. Member
    Thanks, I will keep researching it. All the pros run them. They've been in the boat for a year with no issue. Bought the boat with them.

4. Member
    I recall reading that too, that SHO and lithium batteries have some compatibility issue. If I can find the source, I'll post it here.

EDIT
    This is where I read it, not a lot of hard details though. Sounds like Lithium Pros is the source, might be worth a call to them to discuss, even if that's not the brand you have.

http://www.bbcboards.net/showthread....%2ASHO+lithium

Here's another:
    http://www.bbcboards.net/showthread.php?t=734711

But then there is this from Lithium Pros website:
    https://www.lithiumpros.com/product/...m-ion-battery/

Says compatible with SHO, maybe it's an issue of newer versions of the battery vs older versions. Other than that, I have no idea.
    Last edited by 1bluemcm; 08-24-2017 at 09:07 PM.
    Kevin | 2000 Champion 19​1 | 2000 Yamaha OX66 200hp

Swap out a lead acid to troubleshoot.

6. Member
    Thanks, good read. I appreciate it.

7. Member