WHAT AREA TO MOVE TO IN NORTHERN MICHIGAN

I retired to Kentucky lake area 2 years ago. I have been hammering Kentucky and Barkely for 2 years. What a disappointment. I guess it used to be great. I fish with 2 guys that have fished it their whole lives and we struggle to catch fish all the time. Hunting deer here is the best i have ever experienced. But I only bow hunt for a few weeks and fish for 9 months. I want to get back to great bass fishing again. I have been concentrating in the Au Grea area to fish Sag Bay. Only done online research. Tried to fish while house hunting there but I had the wife with me and the water was too rough for her. I don't know whether to concentrate my efforts there or maybe further east around Burt or Mullet and those areas. I want to be on the water. Homes seem more reasonable on Sag Bay but I don' care about that. I want to go where the best fishing is. I will have to go to a bigger boat for Sag Bay and I will if that is where the best fishing is. I have a friend who fished Charity Islands 15 years ago and he said it was best fishing ever. He has done the mile roads on St. Clair in the spring and said it was better than that. I have been fishing the mile roads for the last 8 years so I know what good smallie fishing is. Anyway I would like you guys opinion. Thanks

Saginaw bay is awesome, but many days its unfishable from a bass rig. Maybe thats why its so good...my choice would be somewhere near indian river, lots of good lakes, and the great lakes are close by. Oh yea and set some money aside for a snowmobile in winter!

3. Member