Thread: Start out

Start out

So.. If I'm just getting started on a brand new unit and don't know much about the units, can someone direct me to what settings and what not to mess with and what they do..
    Do u put brightness or gain all the way up or down, why?
    Do u put contrast up or down , why?
    Do you put scroll speeding slow or ultrascroll,why?
    TVG is better off or on high and for what?

Before anybody starts asking well it all depends on where your fishing and what unit you have.. I'm just trying to get a general direction of what stuff is and how they work. It's been the biggest problem for me in sorting them out. You got one thread that's way to detailed where it's confusing, then another thread that just says turn brightness up.. So I think some shorter answer or brief description will help others as well as myself. The Garmin instruction book is OT detailed enough at all.. And I know y'all know more of y'all are talking about, but as newbie, it would help.. I'm from Louisiana so, talk slow...lol
    I Believe in Catch & Release...
    Only when I don't have Witnesses..

2. Banned

start out with the default settings and play with each one when you have the time to see how it looks ON YOUR WATERS.

but definitely put scroll speed on auto for now

3. Member
    I guess I'm trying to figure out, what is the differences in contrast brightness, what does TVG do to them.. When you go to 800 then Someone said raise the brightness or gain.. Just trying to get a better idea what each setting is doing so u know what to mess with..
    In other words.. My unit I raised brightness but then had to raise Boise filter.. Would it be better to leave brightness along since you just raising both..
    I Believe in Catch & Release...
    Only when I don't have Witnesses..

4. Member
    One of my favorite things about my Garmin is they just work really no need to fiddle with to many settings. I leave most everything on default or auto.

5. Member