Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Does anyone regret adding trailer bunk slides?

I'm thinking of adding bunk slides to my RT 188 trailers. Specifically, Surfix bunk slides. Does anyone regret adding them? Thanks for your input.

I have been using E-Z Slide pads on aluminum rigs for 15 years, have them on my RT188 trailer now. They will substantially reduce how deep the trailer has to be to launch and load. Never have to walk in water behind truck again. I fish some electric only lakes. They let me literally put a partner in the boat and give the bow a push to launch. They let me winch the boat on easy when loading. And power loading takes very little throttle to slid the boat up to the bow roller. They also lift the boat off the carpet and let it dry easier.

Now you must take into consideration that they are slick. Never unhook your bow until the trailer is in the water ready to launch. Hook the bow up and winch it up tight before pulling out. When alone, I use a strap to hold the boat till I get in and release the strap once in just in case the boat were to slide back as I get in. When loading I leave the engine in gear and rehook this strap, then shut the engine down.

Trailer with pads

The way I use a strap to tether the boat while getting in and out.
    Last edited by Skeeterbait; 07-25-2017 at 08:27 AM.

3. Banned
    I switched to Gator Bak love them

4. Member
    I used 1/2 of 3x4 PVC gutter downspouts to cover my carpeted bunks. Ready to do it again on my Texas tinny.

5. Member
    Do these just attach with glue or do they get screwed in? If screwed in, any trick to doing it without putting the boat in the water?

Quote Originally Posted by 93ls1rx7 View Post
    Do these just attach with glue or do they get screwed in? If screwed in, any trick to doing it without putting the boat in the water?