Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

1978 Johnson Tilt /Trim issue, Won't go down. Help?

Hello! Newbie Here... I just picked up a bass boat from an old bass-pro's estate. It is a 1978 Monark McFast with aJohnson 115 outboard, I have a problem with the tilt/trim system. It tilts up, not down. Tilt motor runs but no real movement down, and the tilt motor sounds strained trying to go down. Works great up. I can use the pressure release screw and it will go down but only to the Trim rods, and they do not move either powered or using release screw with downward pressure on engine. I can not get the engine to drop the trim cylinders at all. I have filled the reservoir and cycled it up/down multiple times to bleed unit. Does anybody have any ideas?

From viewed from the back the Tilt/Trim unit has motor on left, reservoir on the right the tilt cylinder in the middle and on each side of the lift cylinder is a trim cylinder(2 total) the Model number of the Trim unit on the outside of the mounting bracket is 115etL78c and the serial number is j4980804.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,
    MP

2. SC Club Moderator ChampioNman's Avatar
    It maybe in the solenoid itself. If you swap the green wire to the blue wire's post and vice versa you could test it that way. The trim relay assembly is/should be mounted inside the boat, probably attached to the inner transom wall.

3. Member
    Thank you ChampioNman!
    The motor runs in both directions. When moving engine up, motor spins fast and engine moves. When trying to lower motor, motor spins but sounds strained and engine does not move. Do you still think it could be the solenoid? I haven't tried your suggestion yet because it's 110 degrees outside... waiting for it to cool down a little. Thanks!

4. SC Club Moderator ChampioNman's Avatar