Nwe to Michigan, looking for suggestions on a new Dropshot combo

I just moved to the Detroit area recently and I'm new to drop shoting. Just wanted to get some input on everyone's favorite Dropshot Combo. Trying to keep it around $300.

I also left all my fishing buddies in Ky... Any suggestions on connecting with a few guys that wouldn't mind taking someone new to the area out on the water? I figured the BFLs would be a good place to start but the first two conflicted with the LBL division. I'm registered for the last two Michigan BFLs but currently waitlisted. If any one knows of someone looking for a link let me know. Thanks for taking the time to help!

2. Smallmouth Junkie!
    St.Croix Avid 6'9" ML extra fast action at $200.00 is a solid choice. Add a reel with a good drag and you have a nice combo. Tackle Warehouses 4th of July sales starts on the 4th. Usually 15% off plus free shipping and no tax.

I recently bought a Gloomis NRX 6'10" M extra fast action and absolutely love it. Crazy sensitive. I feel and catch way more fish with it. I have no regrets. But as I said above, the Avid is an excellent rod for the money.
    Last edited by MichPhoenix77; 07-03-2017 at 09:09 AM.
    2012 Phoenix 721 pro xp / 250hp SHO
    2003 Skeeter TZX-190 / 150hp OX66

This would make a good affordable combo... I love this rod for drop shot, I use a Plueger Patriarch reel, But I would consider this combo for the price. Abu Garcia Venerate MODEL # VNRTS702-4

http://www.ebay.com/itm/201886740005

Marks Props 317-398-9294, 1850 East 225 South, Shelbyville, Indiana 46176 propellerman59@gmail.com http://www.marksprops.com/index.html

4. Member
    Gloomis NRX +1

5. Member