Talons on 492VS?

Thinks of adding two 8 foot three stage Talons to the back of the 492. I have no room in the back compartment for power pole pumps. I have a 6 inch slide master jackplate and will mount them to the jackplate. Just wondering with the long set back on this model if there are any issues I should consider before purchase.

will the pumps fit in the set back where the access hole is?

3. Member
    I've got a set of 10s on my 461VS mounted to the jackplate. You'll have to mount them high so they dont drag, which means you wont get the full distance out of them. I get about 8.5' out of my 10' talons, and I lost about 2 mph on my top end. Hole shot was unaffected. One other thing to consider is your trailer. I had to have two 3/4" steel plates welded to the tongue of my trailer in order to keep it from swaying really bad behind me at any sort of highway speed. You're adding about 85lbs to the tail end of the boat, which is going to really effect your tongue weight. All that said, I love them and wouldn't trade them for the world.
    Last edited by bdubz0r; 06-22-2017 at 06:41 PM. Reason: Got the model of my boat wrong lol
    2019 Ranger Z520C
    2019 Mercury 250 ProXS 4S
    Twin 8' Powerpole Blades
    Lowrance HDS Live 12
    Lowrance HDS Live 9

4. Member
    Thanks for the info. I'm would go with 10 footers, but don't think I will be able to get the boat into my garage without a tilt bracket. I really don't want to deal with tilting them every time I come home. I see the 8 foot three stage are really small. I have a duel axle trailer and don't think the extra weight will be a huge issue. It may cost me top end, but the boat was never fast anyway. Great fishing platform.

5. Member