Question about charging system

I'm very new to boating although I had my 89 Champion for 4 years I've basically completely ignored it until this year (Mostly due to 2 little guys that are 4 and 5 now and ready to get into fishing now).

That said I just want to make sure I'm understanding this right. I have 3 batteries, I understand 2 are for electronics and one solely for engine starting. When the motor is running its supposed to charge all 3 batteries? Or does it only charge the starting battery?

I guess I should be able to answer my own question by testing while its running but I'm more interested in how it is "supposed" to be than how mine is. So I can fix it if it's wrong. I ask because today it seemed like my trolling motor was weaker than the last few days but I could be imagining. Been out on the boat more in the last week than the last 4 years. Time to enjoy it. Thanks.

1st a and Welcome to the BBC Gang,
    Starting Battery is for the start and run of Motor and Electronics.. 2 Dedicated for Trolling Motor Battery's Only. All other add on's, go to Start Battery. Then when get too much added on, of course Start Battery can do so much only. Just remember the Start Battery is also used for the Live well , running lights ( night).

3. Member
    The engine should only charge the starting battery. You will need to charge up the trolling batteries separately.

Great well that explains that. Ok thanks guys. That kind of sucks. It was much easier the way I thought/hoped it would work.

5. Electrical/Wiring/Trolling Motors Moderator CatFan's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by 89Champ View Post
    Great well that explains that. Ok thanks guys. That kind of sucks. It was much easier the way I thought/hoped it would work.
    Enjoy those boys. Mine was 4 last week and he's 24 and living in Boston this week. It goes fast. Really, really fast!
    If you have integrity, nothing else matters. If you don't have integrity,
    nothing else matters.​