Merc 150 4-stroke trim

I'm new to merc engines but have had quite a few boats. This motor doesn't seem to trim far enough when running fast. The analog gauge in the dash doesn't make it to 1/4 and stops and it won't pull the front of the boat out of the water. I've had 4 different props on it and the last one (bravo 1 FS 20p) is the best so far at getting the boat higher but still isn't anything wonderful. This is on a 2016 Lund 1875 impact. The cav plate is 2.5" above the bottom of the boat but there is no way I can trim far enough to cavitate the prop at all. Does this sound like something not programmed correctly during dealer setup? I did order a mercmonitor gauge from European to get rid of the junk stock one. It just seems like I'm missing something with this setup. I have had all yamaha motors on past boats and they all ran best a bump or two in from cavitation

I just went out and measured the trim angle from all the way in to full trim the motor only moves 10.5 degrees. The spec off of Mercury's website shows 22 degrees of trim movement so I do have something messed up here.

3. Ya, I Live on Rainy Lake! basscla's Avatar
    I also have the 1875 impact with a Merc 150. I also trim to 1/4 when running on plane. I will be replacing the aluminum prop with a SS prop this season so that may make a difference.

4. Member
    I'm no pro so this may be wrong, but I think it just needs to be programmed. I just bought a '17 150 4 stroke and programmed mine through my mercmonitor. I'm not sure if the calibration just calibrates the gauge or will actually limit the travel of the trim/tilt but it's easy and worth a try. On mine I just pressed the mode and back light button for 3 seconds to enter programming mode. you set 0 (full down), 10(full trim), and 25(full tilt). You can read the smartcraft programming manual online.

Thanks I'm anxious to get a mercmonitor gauge in the boat and see if it changes anything

6. Member