Garmin heading sensor

I have 2, echomap 93sv chirps, and I'm interested in installing the new headisng sensor. As far as I can tell I need a nmea 2000 starter kit, and the sensor unit. When all hooked up will this give me heading sensor readings on both units? Also has anyone else installed this that can give me some tips?

2. Member
    Yes. If the heading sensor and both units are connected via the NMEA 2000 network, the sensor will work on both units.

I just ordered the Garmin SteadyCast to replace the Lowrance Point One heading sensor I've been using for a couple years. I found the Lowrance to be extremely sensitive to magnetic interference and I'm hoping the Garmin will be better. My boat is small so there seems to be interference everywhere. Do you know where you intend to mount it? Before permanently mounting, be sure to test it thoroughly with all equipment up and running.

The SteadyCast heading sensor is shared among all MFDs via NMEA 2000, can be mounted in any orientation, and also can be mounted under the deck or console (doesn’t need line of sight with sky). Yes, magnetic interference must be accounted for. A good way to do this is with double stick tape to temporarily mount and test the SteadyCast to find the best spot for least interference. I have found on typical bass boats, the area halfway between the console and bow seems to have the least amount of magnetic interference. For example, I have mine mounted completely out of the way, inside the starboard rod locker on the inside wall (approximately halfway between bow and console). Mounting under the driver's console can also work well, but in my specific case, I have a stereo speaker mounted directly under the console which eliminated this location.
    Last edited by Todd Driscoll; 03-29-2017 at 06:19 PM.
    Garmin Pro Team

4. Member