Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Trailer lock question

I have noticed that after driving down some really rough roads on the way to falcon lake that my trailer lock pin is getting bent. This doesn't seem right. Can anyone recommend a beefier lock. This is for a 2017 20 TRX.

2. Member
    Anyone?

3. Member

USA

Are you talking about the pin that goes in the swing -away tongue? If so, then the pin is defective. Maybe not properly hardened. I drilled out the safety pin keeper hole in the bottom of that pin ( to put a small pad lock on ) and it took special drill bits to drill on metal that hard.

4. Member
    No, I'm talking about latch that holds tongue on the ball. I put a pin lock in it but it keeps bending. I'm perplexed as I don't see why there should be any force on this pin if latch is closed. It's not a clearance issue as I can almost jackknife before this Lock contacts receiver.

I've been using this for 3 or 4 years and 1000s of miles in all kinds of conditions and it shows no signs of wear or bending.

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Master-Lo...&wl13=&veh=sem
    Bruce
    2019 20 TRX Patriot
    Mercury 250 ProXS Fourstroke
    HDS 12 Live - Console
    HDS 9 Live - Bow

6. Member
    Are you running the right sized ball for your trailer?
    2007 Basscat Pantera II. 200hp Yamaha Hpdi.

Quote Originally Posted by PowellSixO View Post
    Are you running the right sized ball for your trailer?
    That was my initial thought also. Are you absolutely certain you have a 2" ball and not a 1 7/8"?

8. Member
    Mine did the same thing. It was the brakes being applied that bent the pin. I bought a lock that only goes through 1 side. Problem solved.

9. Member
    Mine has a very short pin on one side and I put a Master Lock on the other side.
    Rocket

10. Member
    It is the right sized ball. It has been around for 3 tritons though. May be a little worn down I guess.

11. Member