Garmin 73SV questions

OK got a couple questions. I have no experience with any garmin products but kind of like the looks of the 73 SV. I'm wondering though how does it compare to a Helix 7 or lowrance Elite/hook 7. I don't know much about wattage or 800Khz transducers or anything like that, but the price point with one loaded up with maps is relatively close. Is the SI and DI as good or better than the other brands? What about linking units together? Is it just a cable or do I need special boxes and what not.

2. Member
    Quote Originally Posted by buzzzzbait88 View Post
    OK got a couple questions. I have no experience with any garmin products but kind of like the looks of the 73 SV. I'm wondering though how does it compare to a Helix 7 or lowrance Elite/hook 7. I don't know much about wattage or 800Khz transducers or anything like that, but the price point with one loaded up with maps is relatively close. Is the SI and DI as good or better than the other brands? What about linking units together? Is it just a cable or do I need special boxes and what not.

No. Garmin SI/DI is not as good as Humminbird or Lowrance.

Garmon excels on the CHIRP 2D and Panoptix though.
    Smokercraft Phantom 202 Yamaha F115/Merc 9.9
    Garmin 7610xsv/GT51M-TM/Panoptix PS21/LiveScope
    Why am I hanging out here when I could be fishing.....

3. Member
    I love mine so far. Been out 4 times.
    http://imgur.com/OiJCui5
    1999 pro craft 200 super pro 200hp Mercury EFI 25p trophy plus, worked by mark. large vents. 25 gallon gas one full live well two guys and gear wot 66.2 5900 rpm

4. Member
    Quote Originally Posted by Larry3215 View Post
    No. Garmin SI/DI is not as good as Humminbird or Lowrance.

Garmon excels on the CHIRP 2D and Panoptix though.
    Larry3215 do you think that this is something that Garmin is working on to improve?