TR-18 porpoising

I need some help.

My dad bought a bought used and it doesn't sound like its setup right nor will he listen.

Its a 2010 Tr-18 with a Optimax 150 on it. Has a Tempest 21 pitch prop.

Problem

He lives on a stumpy lake and cant really ever open it up. On the boat road he runs about 30 mph. Problem is you feel like your riding on a dolphin. I was thinking the prop is the issue and needed a 23. Anyone confirm the prop and any other info.

Thanks

2. Member
    I'm no expert, but seems to me he's trimming up too much for his speed/prop. Either increase speed or trim down the engine. I have Tr-186 with a Opti 150 and a 23p prop is the right prop for my boat.
    Triton TR-186, Mercury Optimax 150

3. @delta_fisher
    More info is needed. How is he getting on plane, trim settings

might want to look into a hydrofoil if your needing to be in plane at a slower speed
    99 Triton TR18 DC
    99 Evinrude Ficht 150

Striped bass angler, CA Delta

@delta_fisher @pondscumanglers
    @limitlures @slyguylures
    @nor.cal.kat

Quote Originally Posted by Triton150 View Post
    I'm no expert, but seems to me he's trimming up too much for his speed/prop. Either increase speed or trim down the engine. I have Tr-186 with a Opti 150 and a 23p prop is the right prop for my boat.
    That's what I am thinking too. He will not be able to run 30 MPH with the motor trimmed up to high. He'll need to trim down to eliminate the porpoising at this speed. And that would be independent of what prop he has on.
    Bruce
    2019 20 TRX Patriot
    Mercury 250 ProXS Fourstroke
    HDS 12 Live - Console
    HDS 9 Live - Bow

5. Member

USA

You have to find the sweet spot between Speed ( RPMs ) and trim. Try trimming it all the way in ( down ), open it up until you get on plane, then trim it up gradually ( as speed increases and are on plane, you can throttle back a bit ). You will find a sweet spot.

6. Member