Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Nitro z7 w/ 175 won't get on pad... Hooked hull?

Ok guys, I'm new to the world of bigger bass boats and I recently picked up a 2010z7 w/ a 175 ProXS

My brother in law has the same boat 2011 but with a 150. He is pretty familiar with nitro boats.

We went to the lake and my boat would only do 55mph and 5100 rpm. It hops right up on plane and the engine feels fine. It plowed water and wouldn't get up on pad at all. It's like no matter how much trim- the spray from the side was about even with the front rod box.

We measured prop to pad and it was 5 inches - no jackplate so we raised it up a few bolt holes to get 3.5 prop to pad.

We are both at the lake today - I'm now 5100-5200 rpm still 54-55 mph.
    we made sure the engine was trimming up, has a 24 tempest in great shape. This boat will not get on pad.

when u trim it up it hardly changes the attitude at all- just starts throwing a massive rooster tail.
    When He trims his boat up the front end climbs and the spray goes out of view and out the rear of the boat. His boat is on pad around 40-45 easy.

We brought it home and compared everything - everything is identical and spot on - I'm 99 percent positive the engine is fine. Dealer just checked it out before the sale.

we did find a bad dip in his hull- worse on one side.

if I can't get a pic to upload tonight I will tomorrow.

Could a hooked hull be his pronlem?
    thanks !

!
    Attached Images Attached Images

2. Member
    Sounds to me like you might have to much weight in the front of the boat or the motor doesn't have enough leverage to pick up the front of the boat. I think if you put a jackplate on it that would help. Also yes a hook in the hull would cause your problem.
    Nick Frazer
    YouTube Channel https://www.youtube.com/user/Pin2win201

3. Member
    Swap props and see if there is a difference ... Could be a cupping issue ??

4. Member