2017 Triton 18TRX setup

Hey everyone,
    I recently bought a 2017 Triton 18 TRX with 200 Mercury Pro XS, 24 pitch Fury prop, and 6 inch Hi Jacker jack plate, still less than 10 hours on motor. This is my first post on here and I'm new to setting up a boat and motor, so please forgive my ignorance. After reading several other setup posts, I'm wondering what I can do to get the best performance out of my new rig. Right now, I can only run 63 alone in boat before it starts chine walking badly, but it has more throttle and trim to go. Can hit 65 before same thing happens with fishing partner. RPM's only around 5200-5300. Prop to pad is right at 4.75 inches. Also, not sure how to describe this but boat sometimes feels like it "slips" sometimes in turns, like a sudden shift to one side, even if they are gentle turns not drastic while at faster speeds but not at top end.

Unfortunately, boat did not come with water pressure gauge, but I'm having one installed (ordered 4 weeks ago, still waiting on the part). Should I consider raising the motor any even though it has a Fury prop? Lower unit has water pick-ups at front as well as on sides. And will that help give more top end speed and maybe help the chine walking as well? Love my new boat but think it may be capable of more. I would greatly appreciate any input. Thanks

2. Member
    Would not raise motor until you get the WP gauge installed. If your boat came from Bunch Marine, the setup up will be correct or VERY close. They normally will lake test new rigs before delivery. A good running boat will chine walk some. Lots of threads here address the issue. Seat time will help. You may need to trim down some in turns to combat the sliding issue. Congrats on the new rig.

3. Member
    Thanks for the quick reply, and I figured I had better wait on WP gauge. My boat came from Tri County Marine so don't think they water test them but not sure.