Connecting Yamaha 250 SHO to Humminbird Helix for engine data?

Complete newby to this process. Owned an old carbuerated Vmax 150 previously and always relied on pin-style dash guages for water pressure etc. Got a 250 SHO on my new Ranger z520c last fall and would like to have more information in front of me than what is provided by the basic dash gauges. I've read mixed reports about what the best way to connect the motor to the Humminbird unit is, and whether or not its worth the investment . . .some say the Humminbird units don't provide much additional data. Looking for some help! Thanks!

2. Banned
    Lowrance 0120-37 cable. Connects to the motor at one end and to your NMEA 2000 network at the other end. The NMEA 2000 network will be connected to your Hummingbird Helix.

However, from a brief look at the Helix manuals it does not appear that this model has NMEA 2000 capability.

3. Member
    Have to get the Humminbird nema converter. It converts the nema to Humminbird Ethernet. It will plug into the lowrance nema backbone.

4. Member
    If you convert the signal to the Ethernet hub can you see the data on all networked units?

I know this sounds like a dumb question but I have 4 ONIX units that are nmea ready and was told I had to run a nmea drop to each unit if I wanted to be able to see info on all screens. If I can just buy the ethernet converter and hook to the ethernet hub and see the info on all units that would be preferred.
    Last edited by Pipe Rat; 03-15-2017 at 08:52 PM.

5. Banned
    I don't get it. Don't you guys have gauges on your boats that display all the necessary data?

6. Banned
    Quote Originally Posted by Rich Z View Post
    I don't get it. Don't you guys have gauges on your boats that display all the necessary data?
    It is only a matter of time until helmets are available with a head up display in them so that all information in the world, down to the 1 psi, 1 volt, 1 ohm level, can be seen at all times in the operators view.