How to make sudden stops?

Hi All,

Just bought a new to me bass boat a couple weeks ago and have taken it out every weekend since the purchase. Now, this is my first ever boat and have my father in law teaching me the ropes on boat operation since he's owned a bass boat before and also a center console. Since I am new to this I would like to know what is the proper procedures to slow the boat down while on plane (for safety or approaching a fishing spot)? I don't know if every boat does this but every time we come off plane the boat starts to porpoise until it comes to a hault. Is this normal for all bass boats or is this driver error? Just does't seem right and I cant remember being on the water and seeing a boat come off plane and porpoising either. Any knowledge would be appreciated!

P.s. - I don't know if it helps but the boat has a hydraulic jack plate as well

TIA

trim full down, then ease throttle down, don't stop fast, unless want your wake coming over the stern . Have Fun!

3. Member
    So while on plane, trim down, the bow will probably rise and then let off the throttle? This should prevent the porpoising or is it inevitable?

4. Member
    Hit the brakes Trim down all the way and back off throttle. If your not trimming down full first, that's likely the reason your porpoising.

5. Member
    It's all in the trim. When it starts to porpoise it's because your trim is set to high for the slower speed. Not sure how many people do it but when I need to sit down in shallow water I'll just drop off plane and give a little bit of throttle to keep from getting backwash.

Stop driving it like a car and start driving it like a boat. Driving all about trim and throttle control. Get more seat time and you'll get the hang of it. Listen to what your butt tells you, you'll get a feel for it.