Gelcoat oxidation issues

I've been fighting with my gel-coat for a couple years now and I need some local help. It's not in real bad shape (IMO). I have wet sanded, buffed and waxed it to the point where it looks beautiful then a few month later the oxidation starts coming back. There has got to be someone local who can redue this for me so that a new coat of wax will keep it looking good. Can someone please recommend someone local who can fix this.
    Luther Cosner
    Chico and the boys
    2001 520vx Comanche
    225 Merc. Opti

2. Member
    I've seen Protec products work wonders on oxidized gel coat. It's a DIY kit.
    05’ Skeeter TZX200, Yamaha 200hp HPDI
    00’ Skeeter SX186, Yamaha 150hp VMax.
    PRO-FORMANCE FISHING TEAM.

Check out marine plus Derek has a rack to put your boat on to get it right.

http://www.marineplusllc.com/
    Most men lead lives of quiet desperation and go to the grave with the song still in them.”

4. Member
    Thank you SkeeterSD - I do have the Protec kit and tried that. Looked great after I was done but a few weeks later the ox came back. Maybe I didn't follow the procedures right and I may try it one more time. Anyone else, just looking for options.
    propp26 - I will give them a call and see if they do work on bass boats.

If anyone else knows a good gel-coat guy or company maybe a little closer to B-more, I would love to hear from you.

Thanks guys.
    Luther Cosner
    Chico and the boys
    2001 520vx Comanche
    225 Merc. Opti

Chico you need to be sure you are sanding deep enough to get all the oxidation to release from the pores in the gelcoat.

The hazy finish in the gelcoat you see is a white powdery substance created from a chemical breakdown in the polyesters in reaction to the UV rays of the sun constantly heating the gelcoat.
    Darker gelcoat finishes, blues, blacks etc, are much more susceptible to oxidation as they heat up faster than lighter colors.

It's basically plastic rust.