Possible Trailer brake "Actuator" problem?

Sorry if I'm not explaining this right, so bare with me,

The actuator assembly (The part which connects to the trailer ball) doesn't seem to extend all the way like it used to. (Maybe it is when I'm towing!) It always seems to be only 1/2 way in the trailer tongue and I'm wondering if it's all working correctly and how to test it.

(Note:There are times when I'll back up and gently hit the brake and then get out and go back and check it. Most times it's fully extended.)

I'm also wondering if its time to change out the shock absorber or master cylinder on my 2008 trailer. (I drive a lot of miles per week, maybe 150 to 200 miles per) Braking "seems" OK going down hills and coming to a stop, but I never quite know if the trailer is actually helping out or if it's just my truck doing all the work.

I've never worked on one before so so any tips or video's would be welcome.
    No one can be wrong that often so it has to be deliberate.

2. Electrical/Wiring/Trolling Motors Moderator CatFan's Avatar
    Unplug your lights and try backing up a hill. If the brakes are working, it will be tough to do without tires sliding.
    If you have integrity, nothing else matters. If you don't have integrity,
    nothing else matters.​

Ah yes! Perfect forgot about that test.... sitting around all winter makes you forget things!

Now, how about the actuator "travel" portion of the question.
    No one can be wrong that often so it has to be deliberate.

4. Electrical/Wiring/Trolling Motors Moderator CatFan's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Old Bass Tard View Post
    Ah yes! Perfect forgot about that test.... sitting around all winter makes you forget things!

Now, how about the actuator "travel" portion of the question.
    That can change with pad wear. You may need to add fluid to compensate for pad wear.
    If you have integrity, nothing else matters. If you don't have integrity,
    nothing else matters.​

5. Member