Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Question HELP with Humminbird Heading Line

OK, so I'm a Humminbird newbie. I recently picked up my new boat with dual Helix 10s, ethernetted together with an AS GPS HS antenna. I have 2 issues.

#1 - the heading line and the boat icon jump all over the place when I am running. Sometimes they will turn 90 degrees from the direction that I am heading and jump back. The external antenna is mounted on the carpet in the back corner of the starboard side of the back deck. Not sure if it's magnetic interference from the motor or not, but it is irritating.

#2 - How the heck do you get the heading line to stay up at all times on the Helix map screen? The line pops up when I move and goes away when I stop. The reason for me getting the HS antenna was to aid in fishing brushpiles by helping me line up my cast. I'm not moving when I fish brushpiles, so the heading line is near worthless if it won't stay visible. I never had that problem with my Lowrance units. I've been through the book and tried several settings, but I just can't get it.

Other than these issues, I am a new Humminbird fanboy. The screens are clearer, the navigation is more intuitive, and the Lakemaster mapping is WAY more accurate. I don't miss the touchscreens at all. I had the same issue on the heading line jumping on my Lowrance units, so the disappearing heading line is really the only thing that is worrisome.
    2021 Phoenix 721
    Merc 250 ProXS 4S
    Lowrance Live 12/9/Ghost
    Garmin 1222 w/Livescope
    Ionic 3x50 AH Lithium

Are you using the Head Up orientation setting?

Did you test for interference at the antenna location before you attached the transducer to the hull?

Which unit is the antenna attached to and are you expecting to see the Heading Sensor line on both units?
    Wayne Purdum
    Charlottesville, Va.
    Helix 12 CHIRP MEGA+ SI G3N/G4N, Helix 15 CHIRP MEGA SI+ GPS G4N
    SOLIX 12 SI/G3, Helix 8 CHIRP MEGA SI+ G4N, Ultrex 80/LINK, MEGA360,