Playing around with a couple pitching reels

I'm trying to settle on a pitching reel for this year.In the past I just used my Curado e7's. I recently got a Shimano Met 100hg as well as a Daiwa SV103. I've only been able to compare them pitching in the house.Same rod/line and lure set-up. I'm no expert at pitching but good enough to make a determination.
    I find the Met pitches a little better/further and is a little smoother(as a $400+reel should be) The Daiwa defiantly palms better and is more comfortable to use.
    For these reasons I am thinking about giving the Shimano Scorpion 71xg a try. I figure it may be the best of both worlds at 2/3 to 1/2 the price.I'm certain it palms nice and while not as refined as the Met should preform well pitching lighter jigs.
    Is there a better option out there you guys like before I pull the trigger on the Scorpion or Curado 71?
    Last edited by jiggerjake; 01-13-2017 at 02:05 PM.

2. Member
    I'd suggest a zillion SV TW.

3. Member
    Lew's Tournament Pro G Speed Spool

Also give a look at the Tournament Pro G Speed Spool by Lew's. This is one of the better reels on the market if you ask me. It's very "palmable" which is hard to find in some reels. You want something that is comfortable when flipping/pitching all day long, and this reel offers that. From it's super smooth retrieve to it's strong drag, you can't go wrong with the Tournament Pro G Speed Spool.

4. Member
    I like the curado 70. I pitch all the time and have no problems.
    Contact me if you are looking for Thunderlures!

You could upgrade the spool and get some Hedghog AIR bearings for faster spooling on light baits.

Just some other options.

6. Member
    Thanks for the reply's. Just ordered the Scorpion.
    xranger77...would the HH BFS AIR bearings be the way to go for lighter pitching or are they for really finesse type of fishing like 1/16-1/8oz stuff?

Quote Originally Posted by jiggerjake View Post