Banned

What would you do with these young trees

Got a few young trees that we neglected during the early summer when we had no rain. I finally started watering then and then lately we've had plenty of rain. Question is, would to trim the branches that don't seem to be budding. The first is a maple and the top is done, nothing growing. The second is a really young Japanese maple and I'm pissed myself for letting it go like I did. It looks like it might be coming back but i don't know.

Last edited by Bronzebackfive; 07-24-2016 at 02:00 PM.

2. Member
    I'm no expert by any means, but I would cut off the dead limbs, and go from there. I've done it lots of times and have seen no ill effects. I think you have a better chance of getting a good shape to the tree if you trim it. IMHO.
    1989 Hydra-Sports 17ft-6in. VS-150T
    Evinrude 150XP
    Hummingbird Electronics

3. Member
    I have 8 acres 7 of it is wooded and I have several trees of different species dying I contacted the forestry division they are coming out to take a look free of charge and offer suggestions. I know your situation is a little different but I would do my research cause there is a lot of dos and don'ts when it comes to what time of the year to trim a tree sometimes you do more harm then good.

4. Banned
    I would leave the maple alone till next spring and see what comes back before trimming it back or pulling it out.

Quote Originally Posted by pa.X19 View Post
    I would leave the maple alone till next spring and see what comes back before trimming it back or pulling it out.
    Yep, might be your best bet.

Trees will drop leaves during a drought period. The tree can only support a certain amount of leaves.

While they appear poorly now, they will recover in the next moist period or season. I suggest patience at this time.

Quote Originally Posted by Arclight View Post
    Trees will drop leaves during a drought period. The tree can only support a certain amount of leaves.