Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 21 to 32 of 32
  1. Member
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    The ocean yonder
    Posts
    13
    #21
    Another case for having access to the recorded data (gpx/nmea etc), I find it quite awkward to see contour line drawn perpendicular to the shore line..

    Also, Garmin should implement some way to designate a certain track (which represents a contour line) as the shore line. If we are going to map an unknown lake, it certainly helps to have the shoreline available first. This shoreline tracing can be generated from a lot of available satellite imagery, which then can be used as a rough shoreline of our target lake. For what it's worth...

  2. Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Washington State
    Posts
    2,088
    #22
    I agree on every point.

    In addition to it covering up shoreline, having it cover up things like bridges, bouys, known hazards, etc that are on underlying maps, is not good. It would be great to have a way for those to show through.
    Smokercraft Phantom 202 Yamaha F115/Merc 9.9
    Garmin 7610xsv/GT51M-TM/Panoptix PS21
    Why am I hanging out here when I could be fishing.....

  3. #23
    Is there a way to adjust the contour lines to be different unit eg) 5' instead of 1' ?

  4. Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Washington State
    Posts
    2,088
    #24
    I dont think so.
    Smokercraft Phantom 202 Yamaha F115/Merc 9.9
    Garmin 7610xsv/GT51M-TM/Panoptix PS21
    Why am I hanging out here when I could be fishing.....

  5. Member J D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    KCBM
    Posts
    238
    #25
    A question for those with more experience then me using QuickDraw....

    I am mapping a private 75 acre lake designed with lots of structure, like humps, ledges , long points etc... I had filled in all the gaps, have a pretty decent map.... although I have found two more humps, about the size of a truck... depths range from 10-14' off the sides, rising to 2'-5' on top. I have gone back and forth over these humps numerous times, cris crossing from every direction.... the problem I have is that my map is not updating. It is only showing a relatively flat bottom.

    Does Quickdraw not update once the basic map is filled in with no gaps?
    Do I need to dump this data and start from scratch, making sure I hit these points?

    Thanks in advance for any help!
    \"When My Ship Comes In, I will Probably Be At The Airport\"
    USAF Retired

  6. Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Washington State
    Posts
    2,088
    #26
    What do you mean not updating? My maps get over drawn when I go back over them as long a recording is ON.

    Keep in mind too that things you see in sideview wont show up. Its only things directly in the 2D cone. In shallow water that coverage is going to be very narrow on the bottom, so something just to the side of the boat will be missed.
    Smokercraft Phantom 202 Yamaha F115/Merc 9.9
    Garmin 7610xsv/GT51M-TM/Panoptix PS21
    Why am I hanging out here when I could be fishing.....

  7. Member J D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    KCBM
    Posts
    238
    #27
    Thanks Larry,

    that was my understanding as well, that my chart would update/overwrite.... as long as I was recording.
    I just went back out, I double checked that I was recording, then spent 30 minutes cross crossing back and forth, across this underwater hump/island, from deep to shallow, and back to deep and again.... from multiple directions. I made passes that were about 50 yards long and about 5' parallel to each other. Then after the passes showed no change in depth on my depth finder, I switched the direction of my passes 90 degrees and repeated the process. I even circled the hump at various depths.
    Net result....No change in contours on my chart..... the contours that are on my chart run parallel to the bank which is 75 yards away.

    One other hump that I recorded on the first day out did record the hump but only minimally....it tops out at 8' on the chart, up from the surrounding 12', when in fact the top is only 3' deep.

    I checked my offsets....all were zeroed.
    I'm using a 73SV
    My transducer is just under the surface, getting a good signal, Traditional and downscan are marking schools of baitfish and larger fish as well. Side view working sweet....marking anything and everything.

    Thanks again any and all input.

    JD
    \"When My Ship Comes In, I will Probably Be At The Airport\"
    USAF Retired

  8. Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Washington State
    Posts
    2,088
    #28
    So you're saying the depth numbers on the sonar page show your going over a shallow hump, but the QD recording on the chart page shows a different depth or no change in depth at all?

    Is there a green circle around the boat icon on the chart view when you are recording?

    Im not sure what could be causing your issue unless there is no green circle. If there isnt a green circle, then you should probably check the GPS settings and make sure the correct transducer is shown on the sonar page.

    Oh - have you up-dated the software yet? If not, do that for sure. Next step would be to try a factory re-set. That can fix odd behavior.
    Smokercraft Phantom 202 Yamaha F115/Merc 9.9
    Garmin 7610xsv/GT51M-TM/Panoptix PS21
    Why am I hanging out here when I could be fishing.....

  9. Member J D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    KCBM
    Posts
    238
    #29
    Thanks again Larry,

    yep, that's exactly what's happening....depth change on the finder, but no corresponding change on the QD chart.
    I am getting a good steady green circle.
    Just did the software update a little bit ago.... will test that tomorrow. If that fails I'll do the reset.

    Thanks for the assist.
    \"When My Ship Comes In, I will Probably Be At The Airport\"
    USAF Retired

  10. Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Washington State
    Posts
    2,088
    #30
    If neither one of those works, time to call customer support. Its probably some setting Ive forgotten about :)
    Smokercraft Phantom 202 Yamaha F115/Merc 9.9
    Garmin 7610xsv/GT51M-TM/Panoptix PS21
    Why am I hanging out here when I could be fishing.....

  11. BBC SPONSOR REP TroyBoy30's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Lake Lanier
    Posts
    13,941
    #31
    some new resources to check out

    1) How to DOWNLOAD Maps from Quickdraw Community: https://www.garmin.com/en-US/blog/fi...min-quickdraw/

    2) How to UPLOAD maps to Quickdraw Community: https://www.garmin.com/en-US/blog/fi...raw-community/

  12. Member J D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    KCBM
    Posts
    238
    #32
    Good stuff Troy...
    I guess it is time for tech support...I've updated the software....I've reset the system, went back to map the humps with no luck. I can see contour lines already in place are shifting/updating but it seems as though no new contours are added... i.e. The humps coming up out of 10-14' to less then 3-4'. The old contours are there but no changes where I've made multiple passes from all directions....I even tightened up my passes to within a couple of feet of each other.
    \"When My Ship Comes In, I will Probably Be At The Airport\"
    USAF Retired

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12