Thread: Wire question

Wire question

More advice needed. I am getting ready to purchase wire for the wiring of my new graphs. My question is what kind of wire do I need and where can I get it at a reasonable price? I'm told I need 10gauge coming from my batteries to my fuse panel and 14 to my electronics. So many wires and not much knowledge on my end. Store recommendations or links would be great!

I'm not an expert, but 10 and 14 is what I've found as recommended. There's a ton of electronics installation info under the electronics sections here on BBC. If you'll be pulling new wires, get marine grade duplex wire. It'll get both wires through at once and the sheathing offers a layer of insulation too.

]2016 Phoenix 618 Yamaha 150 SHO

While many are successful running their electronics off buss fuse panels, it is recommended by Humminbird that the electrical supply of the graph be run directly to the cranking battery with a 3 amp inline fuse. This assures adequate power even when the motor is cranked assuming sufficient size battery is installed, and minimizes the chance of electrical interference from other devices on the buss. The wire should be minimum of 14 AWG with 12 or 10 giving more assurance. The wire used should be marine tinned wire. I personally prefer the Ancor brand and usually purchase from www.jamestowndistributers.com I also personally prefer duplex wire with a red and black wire in a single sheath.

4. Member
    I'm not running them into the boats panel, I bought a seperatly panel from blu seas just for the electronics. This is not recommended? This is all new to me, just figured it was and extra layer of protection and gave it a nice clean look.