Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

First Time Towing Advice

We just purchased a 27' Keystone Springdale, our first camper. I have "Camper Class" tomorrow and we plan on pulling it down to SC on Saturday. That being said, this is my first time pulling a camper. Any advice is welcome.....and needed.

2. Banned
    Quote Originally Posted by ncbass View Post
    We just purchased a 27' Keystone Springdale, our first camper. I have "Camper Class" tomorrow and we plan on pulling it down to SC on Saturday. That being said, this is my first time pulling a camper. Any advice is welcome.....and needed.
    The most important this is to make sure the tires are in good shape. sure do not want to have a blow out on your first trip. talk to the people you bought the camper from to give you a report on the tire condition. What are you towing the camper with? Until you get use to pulling the camper just take your time and get the feel of the weight behind you going down the road. I would get in the slow lane and keep a steady speed and stay in your comfort zone till you get use to pulling the camper.

3. Member
    Make sure you set the brake controller properly before heading out. You want just enough brake to help you stop but not to lock down.

2016 Triton 20 TRX Patriot, 250 PRO XS
    Shawn Willoughby

Drive a speed you are comfortable at (I usually do 65 max) Do not worry about who is behind you or if you are holding them up. They will get around when they can. Watch for big trucks coming up behind you. If they are traveling faster, they have a tendency to cause a little sway. DO NOT over correct. Do not rely solely on GPS. Check Google maps etc to check your route. GPS can take you down a road you shouldn't be on. Don't over pack. Finally, camping is supposed to be fun, relax and enjoy the time
    "I see dead people"

Quote Originally Posted by TightLip View Post