Champion 190SX Questions for PAT Goff

Hi Pat. Just a couple of questions about my 190SX Fish & Ski. I read you post on champion history and find it quite interesting.

1. Did Dave Schlick design the 190SX hull?

2. Is the 190SX hull a deeper V than the 190DC or 191? The ride is great!

3. Does my 2001 Mercury 200 EFI 2.5L have a rev limiter? I have heard different stories about this. I once tried a 23 Tempest and it ran 6100 RPM @ 65.7 mph. It seems this engine makes good power even beyond 5800.

I usually run a 24 Trophy 66-67 mph @5800. The 24 Trophy performs and handles fantastic on my rig. I have an R&R slidemaster jackplate with 8" of set back. Propshaft 3.25 - 3.5 below pad. Just a trace of chinewalk at WOT and max trim with a lght load. Lift is phenominal and water pressure #15 PSI (18 with new impeller)

4. How do you think a 24 Fury would work? How about a 24 Tempest? (My guess the Fury would not be the best for this hull and 2.5L motor).

5. I Love this boat and want to keep it for life. Knowing someday I might need to repower, will this boat take the 505lb weight of the newer DFI 200's?

I know this was a long post. Thank your for your time and thoughts!

Bob Fledderman, Bloomongton MN

2. Member

Re: Champion 190SX Questions for PAT Goff (fledderw)

You need to read Pat's book......................Oh yea, he has not done the book thing yet.
    BILLY. 1995 202DCX ELITE TEAM FATBOY
    & 2000 tracker PT185
    2015 Fish count
    Days on the Water =5.
    Big fish 1-5.5
    Big fish 2-5.00000
    Big fish 3-4.0
    Big fish 4-3.0smallmouth
    Big fish 5-@2.50

3. Member

Fledderw

I have a friend with pretty much the exact set-up with very similar numbers. He will also be repowering in the next short while.

So...I have this question for Pat as well......How will the 190sx handle a 3.1 or 3.3 liter block. This could allow a 225 or even a 250 hp......that would be an awesome Fish'n'ski

Bill

4. Pat Goff