Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

removing rod rack in port locker

Has anybody removed the tubes in the port locker in a ZX or FX model? How do they come out?

LUND 1875 Pro Guide 👊🏻✊🏻

2. Member
    2 screws in the top above the tubes and it comes right out and then remove floor bracket

Thanks..........I was brainstorming the idea to fit more rods in the locker without having to mess with the tubes... but not sure if I want to actually take it out. Has anybody done this? If so do you prefer the locker with or without the rod tubes?

LUND 1875 Pro Guide 👊🏻✊🏻

4. Member
    I prefer it without the tubes. I still use the rack on the port side. My boat is shorter but without the tubes I can easily fit 7'11" rods in there without stressing the rods.
    2018 Skeeter ZX250
    2018 Yamaha 250 SHO

I take the tubes out and leave the handle rack in. I can fit 30 rods in there with rod socks. I've been using this setup for 4 years now and it works great.
    2024 Phoenix 21 XE - Mercury 250 PRO XS Serial #3B429919
    2017 Phoenix PHX 21 - Yamaha 250 SHO
    2010 Skeeter 20i - Yamaha 250 SHO
    1988 Procraft 1780 Competitor - Mercury 100

Wow, I removed the tubes today... hard to believe 2 little screws hold that in place. I think I'm gonna like not having those tubes in there. Definitely makes it easier getting rods in and out. Noticed some of the Skeeter pros do the same thing.

8_137.jpg7_134.jpg

LUND 1875 Pro Guide 👊🏻✊🏻

7. Member
    First thing I did when I got my new boat home was put the rods in the box, then take them back out and remove the tubes and rack I could tell they were going to drive me nuts!!
    2014 Skeeter ZX200 w/ 200 YamahaSHO

8. Member
    Left the tubes and took out the rack. I was able to put 5 rods, 5 rod and reel setups that slid under the tubes. I then was able to put the rest of the rods in using the tubes. 2 micro guide rods will fit in one tube. Going to try it for awhile.