Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Question RH vs LH Casting Reels

Gents,

It is really odd that I am right handed but fish with left handed casting reels? In the for sale section is seems like almost everyone exclusively uses RH reels since that is the majority of what is purchased an sold.

Cam

2. Member
    I'm the same as you. I fished right hand from my start on casting equipment but moved to lefty for jigs and plastics since I couldn't get the hang of using my left hand to pitch or cast. I've moved from doing a lot of crankin to mostly plastics and jigs so the shift to left hand reels was pretty easy for me. I did have a hard time with crankin with a lefty that was a slower ratio (5-1) so I simply went to all 6.3 :1 and up for moving baits. Now its all natural and lovemy lefties
    I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me...Phil 4:13

I've been doing this for the last 40 years. the only downside is a somewhat limited selection of reels. Most high end reels do come in a lefty version. Lefties do show up on the for sale forum, but tend to sell quickly if they are well taken care of and priced right.

4. Member
    It's good to be left handed and reel with the right hand. The one advantage we lefty's have in this world.!
    John the Garage Doorman

5. Member
    I switched over a few years ago and I haven't lost as many fish due not switching hands. Yes the down side is availability of leftys but the Daiwa, Shimano and Abu Garcia have a very good variety. Lews came a very long way the last year or so on offering lefts as well. For me it was,a very good switch

Quote Originally Posted by Doorman1 View Post
    It's good to be left handed and reel with the right hand. The one advantage we lefty's have in this world.!
    My Dad would totally agree with you!