Thread: Ethanol?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Ethanol?

I own a Triton TR-17 with a 125 hp Mercury from 2000. I bought it used from a guy that I've fished with and trust. I rode on the boat a couple of times with him and the motor had no issues what so ever. Ever since I've owned it has nothing but problems. It has a lot of trouble starting and sometimes won't start at all. Sometimes it will crank but then shut off and other times it won't even turn over. There isn't anything physically wrong with the motor (It was inspected by a mechanic) and I have come to believe that the problem is being caused by high amounts of ethanol in the gas I've used. I regularly use sta-bil on every fill-up but the problem remains inconsistent (sometimes the motor works great and sometimes it sucks). Has anybody else experienced problems with ethanol in gas and if so what did you do to fix it? I'm fairly new to boat owning and any help is much appreciated. Thanks!

2. Delta Hotel
    I am not a mechanic, but I would remove all your gas from tank, replace all your fuel lines, primer bulb and have your fuel injectors or carb cleaned. Atleast you will have peice of mind that your fuel is good to the motor.

Agree with above post, but i would change the fuel filter too! It definately souns like fuel delivery. Actually just thought it could also be bad spark to the plugs.

4. Member
    Ethanol has nothing to do with engines not cranking over at all. Sounds like bad battery connections or bad ground on main engine lead. Get a friend that knows engines, or spend some $ at a marine repair facility.

5. Banned
    Look in your area to see if you can find some ethanol free fuel. There are a few stations around here that sell it.

Is this a problem with COLD cranking only? Or, does it do it throughout the day...even after the motor is warm?

7. Member