Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

New to big bikes, so what safety tips do you guys have?

I just got my Ultra Classic this weekend. You can see the softail thread I started a couple of weeks ago for the story. I will admit I am a little intimidated by the big bike right now. It will be delivered on Tuesday. I want to be a very good driver of the bike since my wife will be riding with me. That is why we got it. So for those of you who take a passenger frequently, what are some of the pointers you have for me to make it an enjoyable ride for the passenger. I am a very defensive driver and know the importance of being alert to all the surroundings and others on the road but I know there must be a multitude of other suggestions that all of you experienced riders can provide me. I can tell you I will take all of this very slow and make sure my confidence level is where it should be before I take my wife on it. I know the safety apparel is an absolute and will make sure we are dressed correctly. Thanks in advance for all your insightful information.

2. Member
    Make all your radio adjustments before you take off, the intercom system should be second nature. We have our VOX turned off and use PTT. It should come with one set of speakers and mic. My wife loved to play with the radio and intercom after riding her Sporty.

Buy a pump for the rear shocks, the ride can vary greatly depending on the rear shock pressure. When we are two up I add pressure, if it's just me and I'm going any distance I re-adjust. I've rode back there while she drove. It's a different ride in back, less wind and you are sitting over the rear suspension. It's hard to stretch out.

ALWAYS make sure you are ready for your passenger to mount and dis-mount!

Once your passenger has the trust to lean back and enjoy the ride and you have the confidence to press on your going to love the new bike.

Every time you ride by yourself practice a hard emergency stop.