Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

optimax fuel pressure regulator (pls take a min to read)

my opti has been running great. the other day it started missing slightly before I killed it to fish. upon cranking it she went to full throttle. checked all the linkage and was fine. tried it again wot...took it to a mechanic where he played with it scratching his head and all blaming it on the tps to ecm to a crack in the block. after watching and waiting about two hrs and him saying they needed to hook it up to a computer i decided to pack it up...got it home tore down the fuel rails and found a ruptured fuel regulator diaphragm. basically it was dumping fuel into the air and therefore dumping it in the engine causing it to run away. so good I know what's wrong and it literally took about an hr research online and 30 minutes work.

now how to fix?
    I am an auto mechanic. if I was working on a car this would be a 20$ part at best but not the case on a boat. mercury won't sell just the diaphragm or the regulator at all....u have to buy the whole rail. the cost of that is 1300$ and correct me if I'm wrong but I believe u have to buy both rails now cause u can't buy just one anymore making it 2600$.

mercury claims the reason for this is due to laws and restrictions by the EPA. OK I see that but explain to me why I can rebuild the tracker valve on the other fuel rail better yet the fuel pump or anything else for that matter. it seems to me if it was mandated by EPA wouldn't they mandate that all fuel components be non serviceable? somebody is making some money by screwing the consumer. EPA or mercury or both