Thread: Jig question

Jig question

I have been making jigs for about two years now. I have always used powder paint for painting them. Is painting with an airbursh and clear coating more durable the using powder paint. I fish alot around rocks and powder paint just doesnt hold up to long.

2. Banned

Re: Jig question (livetofish)

Put clear on over the powder paint. Is what i do on some of my stuff. If powder paint is put on right and then baked right. More durable than spraying paint if you do not put clear coat on either. Add the clear and just makes either more durable depending on the clear and your process.

3. Banned

Re: Jig question (Joey Watts)

I agree...but it depends on the clearcoat being used!

4. Member

Re: Jig question (Terry Anderson)

What clearcoat do yall recommend?

5. Banned

Re: Jig question (livetofish)

I spray a 2 part epoxy.

6. Member
    I always brush on Devcon 2 Ton 30 minute Epoxy. Waterproof, rock hard and doesn't require a turner. Available at Ace hardwares
    The powder paint/epoxy should be more durable than airbrushing paint

7. Member

Re: (Hanzach)

If your fishing the rocks like your supposed to it doesnt matter what you do to them....the paint is going to chip if you throw them alot. I have tried everything and it just doesnt matter. Fish like a lil used bait anyways haha....theres always that one crankbait or something with the paint rubbed off it they just love and same goes for a jig

8. Banned

Re: (Hanzach)

<table width="90%" cellspacing=0 cellpadding=0 align=center><tr><td>Quote, originally posted by Hanzach &raquo;</td></tr><tr><td class="quote">I always brush on Devcon 2 Ton 30 minute Epoxy. Waterproof, rock hard and doesn't require a turner. Available at Ace hardwares
    The powder paint/epoxy should be more durable than airbrushing paint</td></tr></table>

Does it level out so there are no brush marks? No problem with sagging? Thanks

9. Member