Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Beginner baitcasting tips?

I'm a baitcasting beginner and I'm looking for tips and suggestions to help accelerate the learning curve and minimize difficulties. I've ordered a magnetic brake reel on a 7' medium/heavy action rod. Thanks.

2. Member

Re: Beginner baitcasting tips? (booty0)

Welcome aboard.

Learning to fish with a baitcasting reel can be somewhat intimidating, but it is not really as difficult as it seems.

Some suggestions I would make are to use heavier line than normal to start with, at least while practicing your casting in the backyard. The heavier the line is the less you will be able to spool up, and the less it will backlash.

Take off enough for a standard cast, and then wrap a piece of electrical tape around the remaining line. This will keep the line tight and stop it from backlashing.

Use a fairly heavy casting plug 1/2 oz or so, and set the spool tension (brake) so that when you depress the spool release, the spool will barely start to turn and the pplug will slowly fall to the floor.

Reel in line until the casting plug (or bait using) is about 10-12" from tip of rod. Depress spool release and allow thumb to hold spool.

If you hold the reel so that is sideways (with your thumb on the side rather than the top) it will also help prevent backlashes.

Use both hands and as you make a cast, allow your thumb to ease pressure on the spool, but not come off completely.

Practice practice and practice, until it becomes an automatic motion without having to think and you will be ok.

It will only take an hour or so before you will be casting without any problems, and you will be ready to start using the gear on the water.

Be forearned, you will get backlashes. It happens to every angler, regardless o how long you have fished the reels. Conditions sometimes cause this, as well as weight of lure, etc.

Casting light weights or into the wind seems to cause the most problems.