Pumps/switches/aeration and Hydro… one last time?

Another newbie here, and I think the hydro aeration process hasn’t been discussed enough. “j/K!” But seriously, mine is a 2006 198, and I have read a million threads about using the wet wells, and how to use the (recirc/empty/auto switch).
    since I replaced the 3-way valve, I know that it doesn’t turn on anything, but rather directs flow. The instruction from the guy I bought the boat from were very limited, and included a warning about having the 3-way set to something,at the same time a dash switch was selected, would result in wet well overflowing onto the deck…

so initially, one should set the selector to “recirc”, and then turn on the “Aerator” switch to manual, to fill the wetwell. Does one need to keep looking at that level physically, until it’s right up to the drain pipe? Or, do you just leave it on for a while, and it won’t overflow due to drain pipe?

then, turn it off, or turn to auto? And I’m also assuming one needs to at this point, turn the 3-way valve to “auto” as well?
    ok, now we get to the infamous “Hydro” switch. (And more on the extension in a minute). My understanding of this function is that the pump just moves the water from one side to the other, but the magic happens when the vacuum pressure created by the running water, grabs air from the little hole on top of the pipe, and then releases it out the bottom of the pipe, creating actual bubbles, like an aquarium of sorts. And really does a good job of aeration I hear.