Jerkbait line question

Hello guys . I'm fairly new to jerk bait fishing but I have been fishing with a guy who does it a lot and he has been teaching me.
    He only uses 8lb low viz green mono and he out does me every time were out . although I am getting better I always want to improve.
    We are fishing in north ga blueback herring lakes. mostly clear water.
    My question is . Is there any advantage to going with braid? or even floro. For some reason he is stuck on the 8lb low viz green mono and I cant really argue because he catches fish.
    Even though I'm a baitcasting guy, we both are using spinning tackle .. it just works better for wind conditions.

Edit: the reason im asking about braid is. to me I can use an 8lb mono at .010 diameter or go to an 8lb braid at .003.
    although we casting a pretty long now would that not increase distance? would that small braid be about the same as the mono in viability.
    we not catching huge fish. 2-4 lbs with a 4 ponders being rare so im not too concerned about bending hooks.
    All that said I don't even want to fool with floro. we use floro casting drop shots in the summer and its good but finicky (aggravating)
    maybe leave well enough alone? not having any problems with the mono .. other than that &*%$& out fishing me most of the time.
    Last edited by styler; 02-11-2024 at 02:29 PM.
    2004 Stratos 285 Pro XL 150 Hp Optimax OT862351

2. Member
    When jerkbait fishing you get into a rythme with a certain type of line and when you get good results, you sitck with it. Whatever you choose , braid, braid with a leader, fluoro or mono, stick with it and try different rythmes. You friend has found his rythme with 8 pound mono. Find yours.

3. Member
    I hear ya. I guess I should have asked what i really wanted to know.

8lb Low viz green in braid is .003- .004 diameter. so its quiet a bit smaller. would viability be about the same as 8lb low viz green at .010 ?

4. Member